Nominees /

2014 WMMA Awards Nominees & Results

2014 Results

Ronda Rousey

2014 Fighter of the Year

Joanne Calderwood

2014 Fan Favorite

Tiburcio vs Waterson

2014 Fight of the Year

Amanda Bell

2014 Featherweight of the Year

Ronda Rousey

2014 Bantamweight of the Year

DeAnna Bennett

2014 Flyweight of the Year

Joanna Jedrzejczyk

2014 Strawweight of the Year

Ayaka Hamasaki

2014 Atomweight of the Year

Andrea Lee

2014 Newcomer of the Year

Amanda Lino

2014 Amateur of the Year

Stanley vs Runyan

2014 Knockout of the Year

Kankaanpää vs Eggink

2014 Submission of the Year


2014 Promotion of the Year

Cat Zingano

2014 Inspirational Fighter of the Year

Barry Meyer

2014 WMMA Press Legacy Award

Fight of the Year

Winner: Hérica Tibucrio vs Michelle Waterson at Invicta FC 10

  • Paige VanZant vs. Kalin Curran at UFC Fight Night 57
  • Catherine Costigan vs. Irene Cabello at Cage Warriors 65
  • Katja Kankaanpää vs Stephanie Eggink at Invicta FC 8
  • Hérica Tiburcio vs Michelle Waterson at Invicta FC 10
  • Randa Markos vs Jessica Penne at TUF 20 Finale
  • Renata Baldan vs. Michele Ângelo at MMA Super Heroes 3
  • Cat Zingano vs. Amanda Nunes at UFC 178
  • Jéssica Andrade vs. Raquel Pennington at UFC 171

Female Featherweight (145) of the Year

Winner: Amanda Bell

  • Amanda Bell (3-0 in 2014)
  • Megan Anderson (4-0 in 2014)
  • Latoya Walker (2-0 in 2014)
  • Jessy Miele (3-1 in 2014)

Female Bantamweight (135) of the Year

Winner: Ronda Rousey

  • Ronda Rousey (2-0 in 2014)
  • Bethe Correia (2-0 in 2014)
  • Tonya Evinger (2-0 in 2014)
  • Pannie Kianzad (3-0 in 2014)

Female Flyweight (125) of the Year

Winner: DeAnna Bennett

  • Roxanne Modafferi (2-0 in 2014)
  • DeAnna Bennett (4-0 in 2014)
  • Maryna Moroz (3-0 in 2014)
  • Emily Corso (4-0 in 2014)

Female Strawweight (115) of the Year

Winner: Joanna Jedrzejczyk

  • Katja Kankaanpää (2-0 won Invicta title)
  • Carla Esparza (1-0; won UFC title)
  • Jessica Aguilar (3-0 in 2014)
  • Joanna Jedrzejczyk (3-0 in 2014 @ 115)

Female Atomweight (105) of the Year

Winner: Ayaka Hamasaki

  • Hérica Tiburcio (1-0 in 2014; won the Invicta title)
  • Jodie Esquibel (2-0 in 2014)
  • Seo Hee Ham (3-0 in 2014 at atomweight)
  • Ayaka Hamsaki (2-0)

Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Andrea Lee

  • Katlyn Chookagian (2-0 ammy; 2-0 pro in 2014)
  • Andrea Lee (3-1 ammy, 2-1 pro in 2014)
  • Emily Corso (4-0 pro in 2014)
  • Jamie Moyle (3-0 ammy, 1-0 pro in 2014)
  • Amanda Ribas (2-0 ammy, 3-0 pro)
  • Danielle Taylor (4-0 pro)
  • Jenny Lou Shiver (3-1 pro)
  • Jessy Miele (3-1 pro)

Amateur Female Fighter of the Year

Winner: Amanda Lino

  • Brenda Enriquez (3-0 in 2014)
  • Ilima-Lei Macfarlane (3-0 in 2014)
  • Hannah Zeciri (4-0 in 2014)
  • Robin Wissmann (3-0)
  • Amanda Lino (6-0)
  • Sarah Jamila (3-0)
  • Alyse Anderson (3-0)
  • Alexa Connors (3-0)

Knockout of the Year

Winner: Christine Stanley defeats Katie Runyan via KO (Flying Spinning Hook Kick) at Xplode Fight Series

  • Eeva Siiskonen defeats Inga Kaledeite via KO (Punch) at Carelia Fight 10 (Video)
  • Amanda Bell defeats Marina Shafir via KO (Punch) at Chaos At The Casino 5 (Video)
  • Bianca Daimoni defeats Yelka Torres via KO (Punch) at Circuito Talent de MMA 9 (Video)
  • Ronda Rousey defeats Alexis Davis via KO (Punch) at UFC 175 (Video)
  • Christine Stanley defeats Katie Runyan via KO (Flying Spinning Hook Kick) at Xplode Fight Series (Video)
  • Joanne Jedrzejczyk defeats Rosi Sexton via KO (Punch) at Cage Warriors 69 (Video)
  • Michele Angelo defeats Roberta Gomes via KO (Punch) at MMASH 3 (Video)

Submission of the Year

Winner: Katja Kankaanpää defeats Stephanie Eggink via Darce Choke at Invicta FC 8

  • Hérica Tibúrcio defeats Michelle Waterson via Guillotine Choke at Invicta FC 10
  • Reina Cordoba defeats Anely Jimenez via Key Lock at CRF 14 (Video)
  • Jessy Miele defeats Lissette Neri via Scraf Hold Armlock at Gladiator Challenge (Video)
  • Kirstie Gannaway defeats Adek Omar via Triangle Choke at ONE FC 22 (Video)
  • Milana Dudieva defeats Daria Chibisova via Heel Hook at ProFC 53 (Video)
  • Katja Kankaanpää defeats Stephanie Eggink via Darce Choke at Invicta FC 8
  • Raquel Pennington defeats Ashlee Evans-Smith via Bulldog Choke at UFC 181
  • Luana Souza defeats Kelly Katiussy via Keylock at X-fest 7 (Video)

Promotion of the Year

Winner: UFC

  • Invicta
  • Princesses of Pain
  • XFC
  • MMA Super Heroes
  • Cage Warriors
  • UFC

Sponsor of the Year

Co-Winners: SportsFoods and MMA Road Hog

  • Fight Chix
  • Tussel Fight Gear
  • SportsFoods
  • xIonx
  • MMA Road Hog
  • Fightergirls

Headline of the Year

Winner: UFC crowns Strawweight champion in Carla Esparza

  • Invicta Inks Deal with UFC Fight Pass
  • Bellator Adds Featherweight Division
  • UFC crowns Strawweight champion in Carla Esparza
  • XFC announces female tournaments
  • MMA Super Heroes Debuts with Female Tournament

Inspirational Fighter of the Year

Winner: Cat Zingano

Read more

Legacy Award

Winner: Barry Meyer

This year we present the Legacy Award to Barry Meyer (posthumously), founder of Tuff-n-Uff MMA. His organization helped develop female amateur mixed martial arts and create stars such as Ronda Rousey. Meyer started the promotion in 1994 but held his first amateur MMA event in 2003. He also created what would be one of the first all female amateur events in July 2009. Since then, Tuff-n-Uff has helped groom Rousey, Marina Shafir, Tonya Evinger, Jessamyn Duke, the Lybarger twins, among others to become stars in MMA. He also was instrumental in helping Mia Hayes fight for the promotion. Hayes, a cancer patient, wanted to live the dream of being a mma fighter, and Meyer was able to set up a fight under the Tuff-n-uff banner. Meyer established the "Mighty Mia" Inspirational Fighter of the Year award, an award the WMMA Press has also adopted. Meyer passed in 2013 but his legacy still continues with his brother Jeff, who has established tournaments to help develop stars for Invicta. Barry Meyer touched so many involved in the women's divisions. We are proud to honor his memory with our 2014 WMMA Awards Legacy Award this year.