Archive /

2013 WMMA Awards Nominees & Results

2013 Results

Barb Honchak

2013 Fighter of the Year

Claudia Gadelha

2013 Fan Favorite

2013 Awards Shows

Fight of the Year

Winner: Michelle Waterson vs Jessica Penne at Invicta FC 5 (Full Fight)

  • Ronda Rousey vs Liz Carmouche at UFC 157: Rousey vs Carmouche (Full Fight)
  • Michelle Waterson vs Jessica Penne at Invicta FC 5 (Full Fight
  • Sarah Kaufman vs Leslie Smith at Invicta FC 5 (Full Fight)
  • Cat Zingano vs Miesha Tate at TUF 17 Finale (Full Fight)
  • Leslie Smith vs Jennifer Maia at Invicta FC 6 (Full Fight)
  • Tecia Torres vs Rose Namajunas at Invicta FC 6 (Full Fight)

Female Featherweight (145) of the Year

Winner: Cristiane "Cyborg" Justino

  • Julia Budd (2-0, defeat Mollie Estes, Charmaine Tweet)
  • Ashlee Evans-Smith (2-0, defeat Tori Adams, Fallon Fox)
  • Cristiane "Cyborg" Justino (2-0, defeat Fiona Muxlow, Marloes Coenen)
  • Faith Van Duin (4-0, defeat Kelly Kinita, Michelle Peruzzi, Arlene Blencowe, Kate Da Silva)

Female Bantamweight (135) of the Year

Winner: Ronda Rousey

  • Alexis Davis (3-0, defeat Shayna Baszler, Rosi Sexton, Liz Carmouche)
  • Holly Holm (4-0, defeat Katie Merrill, Allanna Jones, Nikki Knudsen, Angela Hayes)
  • Lauren Murphy (4-0, defeat Jen Scott, Kaitlin Young, Sarah D'Alelio, Miriam Nakamoto)
  • Ronda Rousey (2-0, defeat Liz Carmouche, Miesha Tate)

Female Flyweight (125) of the Year

Winner: Barb Honchak

  • Kalindra Faria (5-0, defeat Aline Sattelmayer, Dayse Nascimento, Alessandra Silva, Carina Damm, Hellen Bastos)
  • Alexa Grasso (3-0, defeat Lupita Hernadez, Alejandra Alvarez, Karina Rodriguez)
  • Barb Honchak (2-0, defeat Vanessa Porto, Leslie Smith)
  • Tina Lähdemäki (3-0, defeat Linn Wennergren, Stephanie Page, Karla Benitez)

Female Strawweight (115) of the Year

Winner: Tecia Torres

  • Joanne Calderwood (4-0, defeat Livia Plettenburg, Sally Krumdiack, Norma Center, Katja Kankaanpaa)
  • Alida Gray (4-0, defeat Vidonic, Kennett, Tiem, Casimir)
  • Mizuki Inoue (3-0, defeat Seo Jung, Bec Hyatt, Emi Fujino)
  • Tecia Torres (3-0, defeat Paige VanZant, Rose Namajunas, Felice Herrig)

Female Atomweight (105) of the Year

Winner: Michelle Waterson

  • Amber Brown (1-0, defeat Kikuyo Ishikawa)
  • Seo Hee Ham (2-0, defeat Naho Sugiyama, Sadae Numata)
  • Michelle Waterson (1-0, defeat Jessica Penne)
  • Jinh Yu (2-0, defeat Meghan Wright, Darla Harris)

Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Alida Gray

  • Amy Cadwell (3-0, defeat Cheryl Chan, Hadley Griffith, Jessica Doerner)
  • Bianca Daimoni (3-0, defeat Alessandra Silva, Morgana Oliveira, Gisele Moreira)
  • Alida Gray (4-0, defeat Patricia Vidonic, Jessica Kennett, Soannia Tiem, Katie Casimir)
  • Viviane Pereira (3-0, defeat Rosy Duarte, Ilara Joanne, Duda Yankovich)
  • Livia Renata Souza (5-0, defeat Cintia Faria, Aline Sattelmayer, Andressa Rocha, Aline Sattelmayer, Bianca Reis)
  • Faith Van Duin (4-0, defeat Kelly Kinita, Michelle Peruzzi, Arlene Blencowe, Kate Da Silva)

Amateur Female Fighter of the Year

Winner: Jessica Zomcik

  • Kyra Batara (4-1, 3-1 in 2013)
  • Katlyn Chookagian (5-0; 4-0 in 2013)
  • Brittany Dugas (6-0; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Maegan Goodwin (4-0; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Ashley Hancock (3-0 in 2013)
  • Mary Kate Hayes (4-0 in 2013)
  • Rachel Kovach (3-0 in 2013)
  • Rachael Ostovich (6-0; 2-0 in 2013)
  • Delaney Owen (7-1; 3-1 in 2013)
  • Rach Wiley (3-1; 3-0 in 2013)
  • Jessica Zomcik (9-3; 3-0 in 2013)

Knockout of the Year

- Holly Holm defeats Allanna Jones via Head Kick (Watch)
- Alida Gray defeats Soannia Tiem via Punch (Watch)

  • Veronica Rothenhausler defeats Katalina Malungahu via KO(punch) at 1:12 of round 1 at Invicta FC 4 (Watch)
  • Vanessa Guimarães defeats Bruna Paiffer via KO(knee) at 1:44 of round 1 at Strikers HC 25 (Watch)
  • Nina Ansaroff defeats Aylla Caroline da Silva via KO at 1:25 of round 1 at PFL 10 (Watch)
  • Holly Holm defeats Allanna Jones via KO(head kick) at 2:22 of round 2 at Legacy 21 (Watch)
  • Jinh Yu defeats Darla Harris via KO(head kick/punch) at 3:13 of round 1 at SCS 18 (Watch)
  • Amanda Kelly defeats Hannah Stephens via KO(knee) at 3:40 of round 1 at Cage Warriors 60 (Watch)
  • Bianca Daimoni defeats Gisele Moreira via KO(punch) at 3:06 of round 2 at Floripa Fight 9 (Watch)
  • Alida Gray defeats Soannia Tiem via KO(punch) at :05 of round 3 at 24/7 12: State of Emergency (Watch)

Submission of the Year

Winner: Rose Namajunas defeats Kathina Cantron via Flying Armbar (Watch)

  • Duda Yankovich defeats Daniela Cristina via Keylock at 3:59 of round 2 at Bitetti Combat 14 (Watch)
  • Rose Namajunas defeats Kathina Cantron via Flying Armbar at :12 of round 1 at Invicta FC 5 (Watch)
  • Jessica Andrade defeats Milana Dudieva via Guillotine Choke at 4:34 of round 2 at ProFC 47 (Watch)
  • Emi Fujino defeats Amber Brown via Neck Crank at 4:18 of round 2 at Pancrase 247 (Watch)
  • Alexandra Buch defeats Anne Merkt via Inverted Heel Hook at 4:49 of round 1 at No Compromises 2 (Watch)
  • Stephanie Eggink defeats Angela Magana via Triangle Choke at 3:10 of round 2 at XFC 25: Boiling Point (Watch)
  • Anastasia Yankova defeats Eleanor Tassinari via Scarf Hold Armlock at :26 of round 2 at White Rex Pro (Watch)
  • Tina Lähdemäki defeats Karla Benitez via Arm-Triangle Choke at 4:50 of round 1 at Cage 24 (Watch)

Promotion of the Year

- Ultimate Fighting Championships
- Invicta Fighting Championships

  • Cage Warriors Fighting Championship
  • DEEP Jewels
  • Invicta Fighting Championships
  • Tuff-N-Uff
  • UFC
  • XFC

Sponsor of the Year

Winner: Fight Chix

  • Babes of MMA
  • Brawl and Maul Fight Performance Gear
  • Fear the Fighter
  • Fight Chix
  • FighterGirls
  • Loyalty Before Royalty
  • MMA Chick
  • Polanti Watches
  • Tussle Fight Gear

Headline of the Year

Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche Become First Women to Compete/Headline a UFC Event

  • Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche Become First Women to Compete/Headline a UFC Event
  • Women Enter 'The Ultimate Fighter' House, Rousey and Zingano (Tate) to Coach
  • Julianna Pena Becomes First Women's Ultimate Fighter
  • Cage Warriors Open Multiple Women's Weight Divisions
  • Invicta Crowns First Champion in Carla Esparza
  • Women's MMA Pioneer's Megumi Fujii, Hitomi Akano and Julie Kedzie Hang Up Their Gloves
  • UFC Launches Female Strawweight Division on The Ultimate Fighter, Season 20

Inspirational Fighter of the Year

Winner: Susie Wyatt

The WMMA Press Association's "Might Mia Inspirational Fighter of the Year" is an award that goes to a fighter that fights the odds and does something extraordinary that inspires other female fighters.

Amateur fighter Susie Wyatt has been honored this year. At the age of 48, Wyatt has amassed a 6-2 record having only started fighting in MMA three years ago. She went 2-1 this year with a 39 second armbar. The "Mama Beast" is also helping the next generation of fighters, both male and female. She may have started late, but Wyatt has proven that it's never too late to train.

Legacy Award

Winner: Jeff Osbourne

The WMMA Press Association's Legacy Award is something the committee bestows on a non-fighter who has helped the sport develop and help give women a platform to showcase their talent. The award is something the committee only hands out when they find an individual worthy of it. This year, the committee decided to honor a pioneer in the WMMA community who was one of the first to give female fighters a place to fight.

Hook-n-Shoot promoter Jeff Osborne held the first ever all female card in the US in 2002. The card feature the pro debut of veteran Tara LaRosa. Osborne would continue to feature female fighters on his cards, and continue to hold all female events. He helped start the careers of Julie Kedzie, Miesha Tate, Roxanne Modafferi, Lisa Ellis and Kaitlin Young among others.